Search Jazz West DVDs

The group performs live from the Jazzgipfel, Stuttgart, 1992. From their roots as the rhythm section in Dizzy Gillespie's immortal big band, the MJQ helped bring respectability to Jazz but always leave plenty of space for bluesy and swinging improvising. The 40th Anniversary Concert is no exception, featuring the group accompanied by a chamber string orchestra. Filmed live in Germany, pianist and composer John Lewis, bassist Percy Heath, vibraphonist extraordinaire Milt Jackson and drummer Mickey Roker (subbing for Connie Kay) perform in this unforgettable performance that defines the dignity of jazz; from the echoes of the classical European tradition to the inspiration of classical jazz.

Personnel: John Lewis - piano; Milt Jackson - vibraphone; Percy Heath - bass; Mickey Roker - drums

60 minutes


Modern Jazz Quartet - 40th Anniversary Tour

Jazzwest DVD's accepts
all major credit cards with PayPal.


Three Window Medley


Alexanders Fugue

Adagio from Concierto de Aranjues

A Day in Dubrovnik