Search Jazz West DVDs

On June 3rd, 1989, the Alice Tully Hall at New York's Lincoln Center was the venue for the world premiere performance of Charles Mingus' masterpiece "Epitaph". Conductor Gunther Schuller directed 30 musicians in what the New York Times described as "One of the most memorable jazz events of the decade". The piece had been discovered after Mingus' death in 1979 and painstakingly restored and copied. It is the largest and longest piece for jazz orchestra ever written and is now available here on DVD for the first time.

131 minutes


Charles Mingus - Epitaph

Jazzwest DVD's accepts
all major credit cards with PayPal.


Main Score: Part One, Percussion Discussion, Main Score: Part Two, Started Melody, The Soul, Ballad (In Other Words I Am Three), Moods In Mambo, Self Portrait: The Chill Of Death, O.P. (Oscar Pettiford), Please Don't Come Back From The Moon, Monk, Bunk & Vice Versa (Osmotin), Peggy's Blue Skylight, Wolverine Blues, The Children's Hour of Dream, Freedom, Interlude (The University Rising), Better Get It In Your Soul, Noon Night, Main Score Reprise