Search Jazz West DVDs

When legendary jazz outfit Duke Ellington and his Orchestra kicked off a one-week engagement at Le Jazz Hot Room in Montreal's famed Casa Loma Club on April 20, 1964, the cameras of Radio-Canada were rolling to catch all the action and innovation fans had come to expect from the popular bandleader. Now, decades after the fact, fans can get a rare look at a master in action with this release featuring a kinescope of that famed broadcast and offering such beloved compositions as "Prowling Cat", "Boo-Dah", "Happy Reunion", and "Sophisticated Lady". 

64 minutes b/w


Item# FA14


Duke Ellington - Montreal 1964

Jazzwest DVD's accepts
all major credit cards with PayPal.

Duke Ellington - Piano, Cootie Williams - Trumpet, Cat Anderson - Trumpet, Rolf Ericson - Trumpet (Flugelhorn), Herbie Jones - Trumpet, Chuck Conners - Trombone, Buster Cooper - Trombone, Lawrence Brown - Trombone, Harry Carney - Baritone Saxophone, Paul Gonsalves - Tenor Saxophone, Jimmy Hamilton - Tenor Saxophone/Clarinet, Russell Proscope - Alto Saxophone/Clarinet, Johnny Hodges - Alto saophone, Major Holley - Bass, Sam Woodyard - Drums